Saving time, decision to trial ‘stop clock’ law in T20 and ODIs

Saving time, decision to trial 'stop clock' law in T20 and ODIs

ABC News.

November 23, 2023

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has decided to implement the ‘stop clock’ law on a trial basis to increase the pace of play in ODIs and T20I matches, for violation of which the fielding team will be penalized by five runs. The ICC Board meeting held in Ahmedabad, India approved this law, which will be tested in ODI and T20 matches this year from December 2023 to April 2024.

According to Dawn News, if the bowling team is not ready to bowl the next over within 60 seconds of the end of the previous over, then a penalty of 5 runs will be imposed for the third time during an innings. The clock will be used to improve the time spent between overs, according to a statement released by the IPL. Last year, ICC introduced penalties in men’s and women’s cricket to deal with this problem.

Under the current law, if the fielding team fails to start the last over within the stipulated time, they have to call a fielder within 30 yards. Besides, teams are penalized for slow over rates. The stop-clock law is used in many sports, including tennis, to increase the speed of a serve, in tennis a player must serve within the next 25 seconds after a point is scored. It was given by the club’s committee and suggested to implement it in all three formats to increase the pace of the game, at that time the committee included big names like Ricky Ponting, Sourav Ganguly and Kumar Sangakkara.

The new law will be used for the first time in the three-match ODI series between England and the West Indies, starting on December 3. was done when the Sri Lankan batsman Angelo Mathews was given a ‘time out’ in the match between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh and he became the first batsman to be dismissed in this way in the history of cricket. Angelo Mathews in the match Came in to bat at number six but was forced to return as he was called out before facing a ball.

The incident happened in the 25th over of Sri Lanka’s innings when Shakib Al Hasan dismissed Samarawickrama who was caught by Mahmudullah near the boundary line. Angelo Mathews took a little more time during his fielding and then his helmet. As he pointed to the dressing room for a new helmet, Shakib Al Hasan and the Bangladeshi team appealed for a ‘timed out’, to which the umpire ruled them out. Angelo Mathews. appealed against the decision but the umpire upheld his decision. After the decision, Angelo Mathews was seen arguing with the Bangladeshi players and umpires but the appeal was not withdrawn and he returned to the pavilion disappointed. were

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button