Who will be appointed Pakistan team head coach?

Pakistan cricket saw major restructuring this week with change in Test, T20I captains and Mohammad Hafeez as team director

Pakistan´s Shaheen Shah Afridi (2R) celebrates with teammates after taking the wicket of England´s Ben Stokes during the 2023 ICC Men´s Cricket World Cup one-day international (ODI) match between England and Pakistan at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on November 11, 2023. — AFP 

Mohammad Hafeez is set to take on the dual role of Pakistan team director and head coach for the upcoming series against Australia and New Zealand, reported Cricinfo on Friday.

The cricket team management had a reshuffle following Babar Azam’s resignation as the team’s captain after a humiliating exit from World Cup 2023.

Hafeez will perform his duties for the three Test matches in Australia and five T20Is in New Zealand in December and January.

According to Cricinfo, Hafeez does not have any coaching experience until now, however, the current Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) administration “views the two roles as superfluous”.

PCB had not appointed anyone as the team director until this year. Former PCB chairman Najam Sethi signed a deal with Mickey Arthur who took on the role remotely.

Arthur travelled with the team for certain series and tournaments and supervised the players under Grant Bradburn’s stewardship when he was not with the side.

“When both Arthur and Bradburn were with the side, it was felt there was no distinct difference between their specific jobs, something that has prompted the current PCB administration to do away with the extra role,” said Cricinfo.

Pakistan cricket saw a major restructuring as the cricket body named Shan Masood as Test captain and Shaheen Afridi as T20I captain.

Moreover, there is still the position of chief selector that remains vacant with Wahab Riaz leading the race.

Pakistan team is set to leave for Australia on November 30 and play a warm-up game against the Prime Minister’s XI at the Manuka Oval from December 6 to 9. The first Test will start in Perth on December 14.

Pakistan tour of Australia

First Test: Dec 14-18, Perth Stadium

Second Test: Dec 26-30, MCG

Third Test: Jan 3-7, SCG

Pakistan tour of New Zealand

First T20I: Jan 12 , Auckland

Second T20I: Jan 14, Hamilton

Third T20I: Jan 17, Dunedin

Fourth T20I: Jan 19, Christchurch

Fifth T20I: Jan 21, Christchurch

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button