Cricket Australia announce PM’s XI to face Pakistan

Prime Minister Anthony Albanese and Cricket Australia’s National Selection Panel (NSP) have announced the men’s squad for the Prime Minister’s XI clash against Pakistan in Canberra.

Nathan McSweeney, a South Australian batter, will lead a formidable team that includes six players with Test-level experience.

The squad boasts impressive performers such as Cameron Bancroft, Beau Webster, and McSweeney, who are currently the leading run-scorers in the Marsh Sheffield Shield.

Mark Steketee and Michael Neser, both Queensland quicks, showcased their prowess last season by amassing a combined total of 78 wickets.

Additionally, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Todd Murphy, Jimmy Peirson, and Matthew Renshaw, who all featured in Australia’s Test squad during the recent Ashes campaign in England, bring a wealth of experience to the lineup.

Thilan Samaraweera, with prior experience working with Australia A and Australia’s male underage pathway squads, has been appointed as the Head Coach of the team. During the match, the playing squad will receive support from local ACT Premier cricketers Eric Bell and Lachlan Simpson.

The four-day fixture against the Pakistan begins on Wednesday, 6 December at Manuka Oval.

PM’s XI: Nathan McSweeney (capt), Cameron Bancroft, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Nathan McAndrew, Todd Murphy, Michael Neser, Jimmy Peirson, Matthew Renshaw, Mark Steketee, Beau Webster

Pakistan squad for Australia Tests: Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Australia tour schedule:

  • Four-day match: PM’s XI vs Pakistan – December 6-9: Manuka Oval, Canberra
  • 1st Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 14-18: Perth Stadium
  • 2nd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 26-30: Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)
  • 3rd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – January 3-7: Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG)